How To

What Is Twitter Safety Mode And How To Enable It?

0
Twitter Safety Mode
Twitter Safety Mode

Initially introduced in September last year to a very small group of testers, Twitter Safety Mode is now launched into beta for a significantly expanded user base in the English-speaking markets such as the U.S., Canada, U.K., Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.

But, what exactly is Twitter Safety Mode for auto-blocking users? Is it available for everyone? And, if it is, then how can I enable it? If you’re looking for answers to such questions, we’ll help you here.

What Is Twiter Safety Mode?

Twitter Safety Mode is an autoblock feature on Twitter that they are testing currently. This mode detects and blocks potentially abusive or spammy accounts from participating in your conversations on the platform.

Unwelcome tweets can be very annoying at times, so this mode will protect you from them. With this mode enabled, you won’t have to manually block spammy accounts. Twitter will do that for you, and the autoblock will last for seven days.

Safety Mode is currently available on iOS, Android, and the Twitter website for a limited group of users who have English-language settings enabled on their accounts.

Key Features of Twitter Safety Mode

These are the key features of the Twitter Safety Mode:

  • Twitter will automatically block abusive or spammy users.
  • Autoblocks are temporary and last for 7 days.
  • You can remove the autoblock if you want.
  • The auto-blocked accounts will not be able to see your tweets, can’t follow you, and will not be able to send you direct messages.
  • Their existing replies will automatically move to the bottom of the conversation.
  • They will only see that “Twitter has autoblocked” them.

How Does Twitter Safety Mode Work?

Safety Mode on Twitter automatically blocks accounts temporarily for using potentially harmful languages like insults, hateful remarks, or sending repetitive and uninvited replies. mentions, etc.

When this feature is turned on in your Settings, Twitter’s algorithm will regularly keep analyzing the possibility of a negative engagement by considering both the Tweet’s content and the relation between the Tweet author and replier. Since the technology is also considering existing relationships, the accounts you follow or interact with won’t be auto-blocked.

Is Twitter Safety Mode Available For Everyone?

Twitter Safety Mode is still in the testing phase. So, it is not available for everyone globally. Twitter started beta testing of the feature in September 2021 with a small group of users. Recently, they have rolled out the feature for an expanded base of users in the English markets.

However, Twitter Safety Mode is now available in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. Twitter is planning to roll out the beta in more markets soon. The company is trying to collect more insights on how well the new feature is working.

How to Enable Twitter Safety Mode

  1. Open the Twitter app.
  2. Tap on “Settings and Privacy.”
  3. Now go to “Privacy and Safety.”
  4. Next, find and tap the “Safety Mode” icon.
  5. Turn on the Safety Mode toggle switch.
Enoch

Who is Mahek Bukhari? Arrest, Murder Case, Mother

Previous article

Ottawa Protest: Why Was Convoy Protest Organizer Chris Barber Arrested?

Next article

You may also like

Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.